3 reasons paris is on my mind

Lately things Parisian have been popping up around me. Three in particular. Woody Allen’s new movie “Midnight in Paris” (opening at my local theatre next weekend!), a travel memoir I just picked up set in Paris called Almost French, and an exciting new exhibit I can’t wait to see this summer at the De Young Museum in San Francisco called Picasso: Masterpieces from the Musee National Picasso, Paris – made possible only because this Paris museum is temporary closed for renovation.

1. Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris  (photo credit: Sony Pictures Classics)opens next weekend at our local theatre and I haven’t been this excited about a movie since…I can’t remember? Thanks to re-subscribing to Netflix, I’ve become re-acquainted with the lovely, witty films of Woody Allen (Manhattan and Celebrity) and I’m thrilled to see what the latest from him brings. The reviews have been great and the ingredients – 1920’s golden, intellectual era, famous literary icons, artists –  sound almost too perfect for those who love expat life and any opportunity to be nostalgic about a romanticized past.

2. I received a copy of Almost French (Sarah Turnbull) – set in Paris –  for my birthday that I just started reading. Another twist to a travel memoir (adventure turns to love, foreigner ends up living in Paris, navigating the highs and lows of life there).  Sound familiar? Formulaic to the bone but I just don’t tire.

3. My very-knowledgeable-about-art-friend alerted me to a new Picasso exhibit opening this summer at the De Young in San Francisco. The collection comes on loan from the Musee National Picasso Paris  (a favorite museum of ours currently closed for renovation, rival only to the beautiful Museo Picasso de Barcelona, key to understanding Picasso’s formative years). I cannot wait to  see this exhibit at the De Young. When my husband and I were last in Paris  – we took the fast train from our home in Italy and met up with friends from Luxembourg – we spent a good part of a day at the Musee National Picasso taking in its wonderful collection of paintings and bronzes from a range of periods of his life. After seeing the painting, Enfant jouant avec un camion (1953) (ABOVE), we purchased a copied print of it that we framed and now hangs in our child’s room.  The exhibit will include masterpieces from his blue period (LOVE), rose period, expressionist studies, and include paintings, sculptures, drawings and prints. I do hope Enfant jouant is included so we can see it live again!

Three wonderful ways to experience a piece of Paris this summer.  Wherever you may be.

4 responses to “3 reasons paris is on my mind

  1. Mmmmm, I love Paris!

  2. Jennifer Rees

    Fabulous! Fun to be mentioned!

  3. I read Almost French and lived vicariously. As soon as my hair grows out I’m buying a beret. 😉

  4. Paris is still on my mind after a recent trip there. sigh…

Leave a Reply

