a swatch to watch

For me, getting a banana-scented swatch watch nearly tied with a trip to the San Francisco Esprit outlet as the coolest thing about 6th grade.  I’ve thought little of the company since that time. But recently I saw the swatch originals collection , and another swatch watch (collection 2010 spring/summer) – nearly three decades since the last –  has gone to top of my Christmas list. I’ve put on my wish list the colors red (cherry-berry) or pink (dragon fruit). 

Today it appears that swatch, a Swiss company, has evolved over the years from offering rolled-up scented watches in plastic cases sought after by pre-teen California valley girls to designing an array of hip and fashionable collections. (Or maybe they always have and I never noticed.) If you’ve ever been to Geneva, somewhere between the fondue and the United Nations tour, you will, no doubt, come across windows of finely designed watches.  Geneva’s watch industry dates back to mid 1600s and it remains a world leader with many top brand watchmakers located there, including Patek Phillipe, Frank Muller, Swatch, Omega and Piaget, just to name a few.

While I may sound it but am not an official swatch brand ambassador, you can read more – and do some Christmas , Hannukah (or Christmikkah, as we like to say) shopping –  at their official web site and save the shopping trip in Geneva for another time.  Just don’t forget to share your favorites.

6 responses to “a swatch to watch

  1. I remember the Swatch watches well from my childhood, teenage years, etc. I even wore a Swatch bracelet watch in 2002 when living in Luxembourg. They seem to make a comeback every few years. Thanks for sharing this info!

  2. I don’t know very much about Swatch watches but I’m pretty sure my daughters had them and loved them. I have very fond memories of shopping for a watch in Switzerland when I was 21. it was in Lucerne and I bought the prettiest white enamel watch with flowers painted on it and a cover that closed over the face of it. Sadly it has been lost over the years but there are photos of me wearing it and it was my prized possession at the time. I do love watches.

  3. Whoa, I didn’t even know Swatch watches came in different scents! I’m glad you wrote this post, because I lost my only nice watch back in college, and haven’t had one since. But I’ve been looking around for a nice classic one lately – this sounds like a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

