oh alessi

Our home is a mix of old and new. In our kitchen we’ve got a big chunky pine french country table that seats eight next to a squiggly colorful abstract painting and stainless steel appliances.

When we lived abroad, a shop near our home sold Alessi Italian designer products. Founded in 1922 by Giovanni Alessi, the company is old. But its products always feel new. I know it best for its innovative, artistic, modern design for the kitchen such as kettles, juice squeezers and such in colorful animal shapes and gorgeous stainless steel trays. Old and new. This is why I love Alessi.

Few companies make me want to count my pennies – 18,000 pennies to be exact –  to buy this fruit basket that I really want.

We have this bunny rabbit toothpick holder – it sits on our counter peering out at me when I cook dinner. He (she?) makes me happy.

When abroad, the store that sold Alessi was my favorite go-to place for wedding and other gifts to take or mail home.

This tray is always a hit.

The New York Times Style Magazine posted on their design blog that Alessi now sells the Moka Alessi as a tribute to Alfonso Bialetti who invented the octagonal aluminum stovetop espresso coffee pot that everyone uses in Italy (we still do). Ours is about to go kaput, so my eye is on this next.

Coffee anyone? I promise you it will taste even better with Alessi.

top photo credit: Alessi

11 responses to “oh alessi

  1. Ooh, I love the tray too! I can see why it’s such a hit.
    David and I also use an (old) Italian espresso coffee pot (Moka pot) for our morning cup o’ joe. We have a big one for when we have guests, and a little one that serves for two, that we use everyday. They’re both about 35 years old, but I think they’re made of steel instead of aluminum which is why they’ve lasted so long and are still in good condition. Definitely try to look for one that’s made of stainless steel, it’ll last much longer (and is better for you). Ours looks exactly like this one on Wikipedia! –> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moka_pot

    • we are having issues finding the rings that fit our mokas from italy. im pretty sure ours is aluminum. actually ours looks exactly like the pic you linked as well. I was always told by our Italian friends that the older and more used the better. (and don’t wash with soap!)

      • Yup, definitely did the soap thing when D-Man and I first moved in together. He wasn’t happy about it, and claimed that his coffee tasted like soap for two days afterward.

  2. P.S. Your chunky pine french country table sounds like a dream! I love wood furniture. 🙂 And the fact that it sits 8 people is terrific.

  3. Beautiful almost bespoke items that I’d love to have in the house. These are things that will never go out of style. 😉

  4. Pingback: fine art photography for europhiles | bringing travel home

Leave a Reply

