tagged by ciao domenica

I love it when you stumble upon a blog that features so many of the things you are passionate about.  Ciao Domenica is one of those blogs. I found  it when I posted book and web site recommendations to better discover  the Lost Generation after reading “The Paris Wife” and seeing Woody Allen’s “Midnight in Paris”.  It is wonderful to find someone else who shares the same passion for these 1920s artists, writers, and expats that lived such fascinating lives during this era. Sunday, who writes the blog, also gives great book reviews, and has fantastic taste in home decor. She captures beautifully by photo her lovely home and the places she visits. Ciao Domenica recently tagged me to participate in an exercise to answer questions in an effort for bloggers to get to know each other better. Here it goes…

DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE WRITER AND IF SO WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BOOK BY THAT WRITER?

I have several favorites. Older classics like Ernest Hemingway (“Moveable Feast”) and Edith Wharton, newbies like Tom Rachman (author of “The Imperfectionists” and I’m waiting for his next book to come out), culture commentators and foodies like Adam Gopnik (“Paris to the Moon”, “Through the Children’s Gate”) and biographers like Ross King and Paula McLain. One author in particular that I absolutely love is Rachel Cusk – a past nominee for best young British author. My favorite books she has written are “Arlington Park” and “The Country Life.”  I especially like former and current journalists who author novels (Hemingway, Gopnik and Rachman all fall under this category).

IF THERE WERE FOUR PEOPLE FROM ANY TIME PERIOD YOU COULD INVITE TO DINNER WHO WOULD THEY BE?

Ernest Hemingway from his Paris days (to experience his search for truth in expression…did he sound like the characters in his novels?). Stephen Colbert (for conversation about current affairs and experience his brilliant  intellect, humor and quick wit). George Clooney (to look at). The fourth would be an amazing musician/singer- perhaps a member of the Beatles or Mozart or Pavarotti (to listen to live).

DO YOU LIKE TO COOK?  DO YOU LIKE TO ENTERTAIN AT HOME?  IF THE ANSWER IS YES, WHO ARE YOUR FAVORITE ENTERTAINMENT AND COOKBOOK AUTHORS?

Somewhat. I like to entertain more than cook, more out of cooking insecurity than enjoyment of cooking. My favorite cookbooks on my kitchen shelf today are Mollie Katzen’s “The New Moosewood Cookbook” and Marcella Hazan’s “Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking”.

ARE YOU IN A BOOK CLUB?  WHAT IS THE BEST BOOK YOU HAVE READ RECENTLY?

Yes. We just read “Cocktail Hour under the Tree of Forgetfulness” which was an interesting family biography and history of Africa.

WHAT ROOM IN YOUR HOUSE DO YOU GO TO WHEN YOU WANT TO RELAX?  DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE NOOK FOR READING OR DAYDREAMING?

With two small children and a smallish house, all our nooks are not private nooks, unfortunately! I read in our family room in a leather chair (it looks just like the above picture) when kids are asleep (or at school)!

TELL ME ABOUT YOUR PART OF THE WORLD.   WHAT DO YOU LIKE TO DO IN YOUR HOME TOWN?

I posted recently on this subject.  Although I miss living in or very near a metropolitan city, I love living in a California University town.

WHAT IS YOUR PREFERRED FORM OF EXERCISE — WALKING, YOGA, THE GYM, OR OTHER?

I love playing tennis. There is nothing better than a perfectly and powerfully executed backhand. My goal is to play well enough to join an amateur women’s team.

HAVE YOU EVER WRITTEN OR WOULD YOU LIKE TO WRITE A SHORT STORY, MEMOIR OR A NOVEL?

I thought a lot about writing about my time spent abroad and couldn’t decide on the best medium to do this. My blog has fulfilled this in many ways. I now think it would be interesting to try writing a fictional novel.

ARE YOU A GARDENER, OR ARE YOU A GARDEN ADMIRER?  YOU CAN BE BOTH!

Not a gardener (my husband is) but love our new backyard vegetable garden he recently built and planted. I also enjoy touring public and private gardens.

WHEN YOU TRAVEL, DO YOU LIKE TO GO TO A CITY OR THE COUNTRYSIDE?

Lately it has been countryside – but I do love both.

WHAT WOULD YOUR DREAM CELEBRATION BE FOR A BIG BIRTHDAY?

I just had my 4oth and I opted for quiet. My husband and I went to a day spa and relaxed and read by the pool.  Traveling would also be fun for an occasion like a birthday –  with my family and preferably by the sea.

Now it’s my turn to tag four travel/lifestyle bloggers – should they choose to participate. In the meantime, I do hope you will check out their blogs that will be sure to inspire you.

I heart mondegreens in spain

act of traveling

this is my happiness

going dutch

THE QUESTIONS

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE SAYING OR MOTTO?

WHAT IS YOUR DREAM JOB?

WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE ARTIST?

DO YOU LIKE TO COOK? IF SO, WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE MEAL TO PREPARE WHEN YOU ENTERTAIN?

WHAT PART OF THE WORLD DO YOU HAVE LITTLE INTEREST IN TRAVELING TO? AND WHICH PART OF THE WORLD IS NEXT ON YOUR “LIST”?

IF THERE WERE FOUR PEOPLE FROM ANY TIME PERIOD YOU COULD INVITE TO DINNER WHO WOULD THEY BE?

DO YOU LIKE TO READ AND DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE AUTHOR?

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE ASPECT OF BLOGGING?

10 responses to “tagged by ciao domenica

  1. Hi Monique, this is fabulous! I love getting to know you better. Thanks so much for participating. And thank you for reminding me of “Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness.” I read her other book “Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight” and want to read this one. A good book to suggest to my book club! Have a great weekend.
    Sunday

    • thanks sunday. I didn’t read the first, but have heard from other members of my book club that this book is much more favorable towards her mother than the first book. Maybe a make up for the first, which I know her family calls “that awful book” or something similar.

  2. I enjoyed reading this when it appeared in my inbox a few nights ago, and I was so pleased when I saw that you had tagged me! It was nice to know more about you and be introduced to some other bloggers. The fact that you have time to read and be in a book club gives me hope that I will have more time when my kids get a little older. If you write a book about living in Italy, I will be one of your first readers! I love reading books about Italy but find that they get a bit monotonous (the middle-aged woman/couple finding an old house in Tuscany, learning how to deal with the crazy neighbors…). Your angle would be different, especially because you did it as a family.

    • Thanks Jenna! I doubt there are many books published by americans living and set in the area where we lived in italy, because we were practically the only ones! yes, frances mayes tuscany books – as much as I fall for those kinds of books – make me want to throw up now that we are back. I think my book would be the anti-under the tuscan sun with a little more what I consider real life there. Also, I actually moved to Italy on my own (as did my husband) and we met in person there (he lived there for 2 years before I arrived) – it’s a funny story with some crazy coincidences.

  3. Awesome!

    I also love love loved reading the Paris Wife and then watched Midnight in Paris – beautiful! I’m also hear to encourage you to try writing fiction in the future. I think you’re a great writer! Go for it! 🙂

    • thanks Nikki! Yes, if you enjoyed The Paris Wife, and want to dig deeper – there are some great biographies out there on Hadley – as well as books and biographies on Sara and Gerald Murphy. I’d recommend “Living Well is the Best Revenge” as a start.

  4. Pingback: An Inteview--Tagged by Bringing Travel HomeThis Is My Happiness

  5. Oh my gosh, I completely missed this post! Thanks for the nomination! 🙂 I’ll refer back to this later – after browsing through, I’ve realized there are a handful of questions I don’t know the answers to! Time for some self-discovery apparently.

    I love your George Clooney answer. I just saw an old photo of him on The Frisky today – young, nerdy George is too adorable. Then again, I’ve always had a huge soft spot for the nerds.
    http://www.thefrisky.com/photos/10-celebrities-who-claim-they-were-ugly-ducklings/ducklings-george-clooney-m-jpg/

Leave a Reply

