longtime love affair with the cinquecento

Let’s for a moment pretend I’m not a carpool mom of two active school-age kids, who require school drops offs and pick ups and rides to tennis and soccer and playdates. Let’s pretend my kids don’t also have friends who require drop offs and pick ups, and backpacks and sports equipment that require storing. Let’s just pretend.

If that were me, a non-carpool-driving, equipment-lugging mom, then our next car would be, without doubt, the recently resurrected Italian-designed Fiat 500 –  or Fiat “cinquecento”as it’s called in Italy.

The new Fiat 500 in white available now in the U.S.

I, like many Europhiles, have seen these Italian iconic cars over the years when traveling there.

We’ve snapped photos and posed in front of them. They live in our scrapbooks now.

My scrapbooks over the years include photos of me posing in front of original Fiat cinquecentos when traveling in Italy.

If we could, we would tie our hair back in a scarf like Sophia Loren, slip our Armani sunglasses over our eyes and drive it home.

Now we can.

In this 2011 NY Times review of the Fiat 500,  we learn “the consensus of people I invited along as passengers was that traveling in the car made them feel young, sporty and ‘very European.’ And the arrival of such an economical car as gas prices flirt with $4 a gallon seems timely.”

A fun, new advertising campaign for the American market – “The Next Wave of Italians has Arrived” – was filmed on the Amalfi Coast and launched earlier this summer.

Small, sporty, affordable, European, easy parking?  At around $16,000? Forget the Honda Odyssey minivan that has taken over my town. Forget the kids (this time). We can use the other car for field and road trips.

 I’m not pretending.

Standing next to our friend’s red Fiat 500 in Tuscany a few months ago.

5 responses to “longtime love affair with the cinquecento

  1. I love this post! I had a Fiat when I was in my twenties and just loved it. The red one you are standing next to is adorable. When are you buying it! The advertising campaign sounds very effective, if it can make us feel like Sophia Loren, I want one too!

  2. Small, sporty, affordable, European, and it allows for easy parking – what more do you need in a car? (I wonder if it’s cheaper here as there might be less of an import factor – I’m going to go check in a second). I love walking everywhere, but you’ve got me wanting a Fiat now. (My dad actually restored a Fiat when I was younger… he put it back together, piece by piece, while I played on my jungle gym in the backyard, so it’d be nice to have a car that reminds me of him from time to time!)

    Oh goodie. D-Man’s up from his siesta. Going to show him the car!

  3. P.S. Love your new header!

Leave a Reply

